Log in

Green Village

Green stands for balance, harmony, growth, renewal and rebirth. Green village programme aims at wholesome development of the rural areas by addressing ecological, economic, and equity issues in the villages. The programme aims to bring about changes through community level social regulations, co-operation, and its proactive participation for a green, clean, toxic free, low carbon, self-reliant, eco-resilient rural India. The initial phase focused on entry point activities like tree plantation, organic farming, awareness and rapid appraisals of the villages to evolve appropriate need-based programmes. Following is an outline of the mandate for the programme.

  • Conservation of village ecosystems, biodiversity and its invaluable local genetic wealth.
  • Conservation and judicious usage of resources like water, soil, energy, and all biotic and abiotic natural heritage.
  • Planting and protecting indigenous trees to cover villages with a minimum of 33 % tree cover.
  • Environmental awareness, skills and capacity building for the promotion of sustainable livelihoods and empowerment of all villagers.
  • Nature friendly initiatives and traditional organic farming.
  • Promotion of new and renewable energy sources.
  • Safeguarding traditional indigenous wisdom and promotion of eco-friendly innovations.
The idea was conceptualized in 2011 and to begin with about 2,34,243 saplings were planted in several villages. Subsequently to take forward the aspiration in a more comprehensive manner CGR focused on the creation of model green villages by promoting sustainable development goals in the rural areas. The villages in which the programme is taken up are Silarpalli and Maisigandi in Nagarkurnool district, Saireddygudem in Rangareddy district and TV 9 colony in Kurnool district.

Model Green Villages

Silarpally | Shivapuram | Maisigandi | Saireddygudem | TV9 Colony

Council for Green Revolution , Green Village Programme 2010-18

Year  S.No   Location of  Plantation  District Name No. of Plants 
 2011-12  1 kurraram Nalgonda 1000
2011-12  2 Pamukunta Nalgonda 1000
2011-12  3 Anajpur Nalgonda 900
2011-12  4 Mamoodapur Nalgonda 1000
2011-12  5 Atmakoor Nalgonda 3310
2011-12  6 Pillalamarri Nalgonda 2000
2011-12  7 Gudur Ranga Reddy 1000
2011-12  8 Murthujapally Mahaboob Nagar 5000

Copyright© 2019-20. CGR India, All Rights Reserved.

Powered By   

Powered By 
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software